The Members (Trustees)

Patron : HRH The Princess Royal

A committed team

Since its original establishment (as SHERT) by Act of Parliament in 1953, Medical Research Scotland has been an independent body led by a committed team of distinguished men and women from the Scottish academic, biomedical and business communities. They are appointed for their particular expertise and serve the charity as its trustees (known as Members) in an entirely voluntary capacity.

Chairman: Philip Winn, Research Professor of Neuroscience, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, University of Strathclyde

Professor John R. Brown, CBE, Chairman Synpronics Ltd and Cell Therapy Catapult; Senior Non-Executive Director Electrical Geodesics Inc (EGI) and Quantum Pharma plc; Non-Executive Director Biocity Nottingham Ltd; and industrial representative for the Medical Research Council
Professor Bernard A. Conway, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Strathclyde
Mr Alasdair G.K. Gill, Principal, Mercer Ltd
Professor Andrea M. Nolan, Principal & Vice Chancellor, Edinburgh Napier University
Mr Graham Paterson, Director, Balgonie Ventures Ltd
Mr Barry Rose, Non-Executive Director and Member of Audit Committee, Aberdeen Smaller Companies High Income Trust PLC; Non-Executive Director, Dimensional Imaging Ltd
Professor Heather Wallace, Professor of Biochemical Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of Aberdeen
Professor Jenny Woof, Professor of Biology & Associate Dean for Quality and Academic Standards, University of Dundee

Members' Interests

Medical Research Scotland maintains a register of Members' Interests, which is updated twice-yearly.


Watch a short video about Medical Research Scotland

Click on the image, or on the link beside it, to run the short video about our work and the difference our funding has made to early-career scientists and doctors over the past 50 years.

Medical Research Scotland - Making a Difference

(~4.5 min duration, Flash format, 30MB)
about Medical Research Scotland.