About Us - Members' Interests

The key principles under which the Members operate, especially those in relation to integrity, honesty and openness, include the expectation that they all declare certain interests in proceedings of Medical Research Scotland, thereby ensuring transparency of interests which might, or be thought to, influence their actions. When such declarations are made, the Members absent themselves from that part of any meeting or other correspondence on matters relating to that interest.

  • Philip Winn (Chairman), Research Professor of Neuroscience, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences, University of Strathclyde and Honorary Professor of Psychology, University of St Andrews. Professor Winn is a Board Member of the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education, Chair of Quality Assurance Agency Scotland and International Advisor for the National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education, Ireland.
  • John R Brown, Chairman Synpronics Ltd and Cell Therapy Catapult; Senior Non-Executive Director Electrical Geodesics Inc (EGI) and Quantum Pharma plc; Non-Executive Director Biocity Nottingham Ltd; and industrial representative for the Medical Research Council. Dr Brown has consultancies with DRI Capital Inc. and Opportunity North East Ltd and holds shares in GSK, AstraZeneca, Geron Inc., Vectura Group plc, EGI Inc and Synpromis Ltd. He is an Honorary Professor of the University of Edinburgh, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and holds non-financial advisory positions in the Roslin Foundation, the Easter Bush Development Board and the Biomedical Catalyst Major Awards Committee.
  • Bernard A. Conway, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Strathclyde is a Member of the Electoral College of the Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council and the International Spinal Research Trust Scientific Committee.
  • Alasdair G.K. Gill, Principal, Mercer Ltd. He is also Treasurer of Duddingston Conservation Society.
  • Andrea M. Nolan, Principal & Vice-Chancellor, Edinburgh Napier University and Convenor of Universities of Scotland is a Board Member of the Royal Zoological Society of Scotland, the Moredun Foundation, the Higher Education Statistis Agency Board and the Universities and Colleges Employers Association Board. She is also Chair and Trustee of the Universities Federation Animal Welfare/Humane Slaughter Association charities and a Trustee of the Carmont Settlement.
  • Graham Paterson, Director, Balgonie Ventures Ltd. He holds shares in Mode Diagnostics Ltd and is a member of Targeting Innovation Ltd (a guarantee company). He serves as an unpaid director for Targeting Innovation Solutions Ltd and Targeting Innovation Limited. He is a Trustee of the Hannah Research Foundation and an elected member of the University of Glasgow General Council Business Committee.
  • Barry Rose, Non-Executive Director and Member of Audit Committee Aberdeen Smaller Companies High Income Trust PLC. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Dimensional Imaging Ltd.
  • Heather Wallace, Professor in Biochemical Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of Aberdeen. She is President-Elect of EUROTOX, Editor in Chief of Toxicology Research (RSC), a Panel Member of the CONTAM Panel of EFSA, a Member of the Paediatric Medicines Expert Advisory Group at MHRA, a Member of the Herbal Medicines Advisory Group at MHRA, a Member of the Committee on Carcinogenicity in Chemicals, Food and the Environment and a Director of Cell ProTx. She holds shares in Antoxis, Precious Cells, NovaBiotics and Cell ProTx.
  • Jenny Woof, Professor of Biology and Associate Dean for Quality Enhancement, University of Dundee is an Honorary Clinical Scientist for Tayside University Hospitals.